on not listening…

Saturday was a perfectly lovely day. The weather was extraordinary.

Papa and Nic spent the afternoon at GenCon. After dropping them there Whinnie, Theo & I went off adventuring. Several parks, a library, several stores, exploring, touching, playing, happy times. Well, you’d think, right? Nope.

Yes, the day was full of adventure and exploration.
And yet it was a parenting fail.

Why?
Because Whinnie & Theo had one request: go home & play.

“No,” I said, “we can go have lots of fun. We can explore. We can play. We can do whatever we want today — the weather is extraordinary.”

“Um, no thanks,” they said, “we’d rather go home.”

And the parenting fail: we spent the day exploring.

I dismissed what they asked for. I brushed aside their preference for this stupid idea I had in my head about what we *should* do.
And you know what is completely and utterly nutty? I didn’t even listen to my own inner voice; the one that was asking to go home.

Stupid.

I have these stupid tapes in my head telling me what I should be doing and what I should be expecting of the kids. And those tapes told me that it would be a shame to spend the beautiful day inside. And they told me that I shouldn’t waste the resources to go all the way home and then back to downtown to get the guys later.

You know what those tapes didn’t tell me? That I’d use even more gas driving all over the area looking for fun stuff to do. Additionally, those damn tapes were completely mute about how icky, ooky and unsettled I’d feel for having dismissed and ignored the kids’ {clearly expressed} preference.

When we got home I finally breathed clearly and fully and realized what I’d done. I missed home deeply. I was so happy to be back in this treasured space. I was deeply relieved to be back where I had wanted to be all day — as were the kids. Duh.

Being Mindful.
That’s what this blog is supposed to be about: mindful parenting, mindful homeschooling, mindful living.

So today?
While the kids revel in being at home, I’ll knit and clean and cook and facilitate. And when no one needs me, I’ll put in my earbuds and listen to some good audio (like this one) and mindfully keep myself out of the childrens’ way. ;)

 

 

2 thoughts on “on not listening…

  1. I recently learned this lesson the hard way myself :). Glad to know I’m not the only one who over thinks things. At least we learn as to not repeat.

  2. Oh, the tyranny of a beautiful day! I know it well, since we get relatively so few here in Seattle. Add to this the fact that I have one adventurer (6) and one serious homebody (2.5) and I kind of fall in the middle, so boy, following my intuition can be hard sometimes!

    Glad to have found your blog! (via Organic Sisterhood) :)

Leave a Reply

