I totally get why kids don’t want to get out of their jammies somedays.

It’s after 9am and I’m still in mine. It’s a chilly morning, too. Normally I’d be showered and dressed and more ‘put together.’ But Chris left for work extra early and it’s a hassle to coordinate getting a shower and making sure that Whinnie is not the subject of a weird science experiment (or just pure neglect) designed by one of her brothers.

But it’s been nice. When in jammies the world seems different, more casual, less frenetic.

So I went online and paid a few bills. I’ve blogged. I’ve checked in with friends. I’ve mused about not getting pix of Theo’s stitches before I took them out last night. (Never did understand taking a child back to the doc for stitch removal. Scissors and tweezers do the job very nicely at home…)

I’m needing to go to the grocery store today. Nic wants to go to the library. Trying to think about how to do it in the best unschooling way I can think of. Yeah, I have to be some sort of team captain all the time — who does what, when in order to keep our family functioning. But I really don’t wish to do it in any kind of bossy way.

Sending Nic on scavenger hunts at the store helps. He gets independence and he gets to help on his own terms, and along the way he’s reading signs and labels and such.

Theo wants to shopping cart surf all over the store. He’s not a monster about it. He just wants to make whereever he is and whatever he does, fun. Who can blame him. Today is the time he has and he’s not gonna waste it on my errands…

Gosh I love these little people.

So here I sit in my jammies. My nearly 10 month old daughter is exploring and gradually eating all the crispy brown rice that I gave her this morning. Apparently it tastes best when strewn on the carpet. The boys are eating yummy, organic scrambled eggs and watching a PBS kids show about ‘super readers.’

It’s a beautiful fall day and we’re gonna find a way to enjoy all of it. No distinction between work and play, chores and freeplay time; just engaging in the world and saying, ‘this is our life, this is our day, and we are gonna take it on and live it well.’

šŸ™‚

