I was reading a post called The Real Cons of Homeschooling here: http://justenough.wordpress.com/2006/10/04/the-real-cons-of-homeschooling/#comment-21240 Make sure you read the many, many comments (28 last time I checked.)

The comments stuck with me even more than the original post — which was itself really thought-provoking.

There was a theme that I saw emerging with some of the comments:
Homeschooling parents tend to be arrogant.

As I drove around running errands yesterday, I mused about this. Am I arrogant? Am I judgemental about other choices? And that’s when it became clearer to me that I think it’s all about confidence. Hence, my comment at the ‘Cons’ post:

Homeschooling is forging your own path. That absolutely takes a degree of
courage, confidence and fortitude. Because we must be firm in our resolve
(even when feeling doubts), it may come off as arrogance.

And then I continued to think about all the various conversations we homeschoolers tend to have and share. There’s so much of the same thoughts about socialization, how do you teach, what do you do, is it really good for the children to be home all the time….all the things that can drive us nutty.

But, how can it be other?

I had to spend the whole summer diligently deschooling myself — and I’m committed to homeschooling.

How can we expect other people to accept and understand homeschooling from the outside?

I am devoted, as a passionate un/homeschooler to begin deschooling those around me who question the validity/efficacy/sanity of my path.

I will not be hostile. I will be the ambassador to homeschooling that my children have called into being.

For their sake, and mine, this is a calling for which I am ready.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
As my first act as personal un/homeschooling ambassador, I posted a new quote up there, under the main picture of my children. It is from Jean Liedloff’s book The Continuum Concept (http://www.amazon.com/Continuum-Concept-Happiness-Classics-Development/dp/0201050714/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1198155028&sr=8-1 )

It is not, strictly speaking, a homeschooling book. It is a book about living a life that respects all of us.

I first learned of The Continuum Concept from reading several of John Holt’s books. Because of his use of her words, I had to go find the book. And I am ever-so-glad that I did.

It is, for me, a parenting tome, a resource to which I turn in times of parental-confusion. Within its pages I have found the answer to dealing with my fears, my dreams and potty training.

If you haven’t read it yet, check it out. Whether you homeschool or not, it is a worthwhile read…

