As Hurricane Ike slams texas we are experiencing a last-week-o-summer heat wave.

I had just gotten so spoiled by out temps in the upper 70s and lower 80s. I LOVE fall. I love cooler, crisp days. I love sweaters. I love fall leaves. I even love shorter days.

I do not like summer. I understand that it is crucial to food production. I even get that some people love the hot, hot days. I am just not one of those people. I really hate being hot.

So I am in heaven with the autumnal equinox coming and the days shortening and the cooler, crisper, dryer air coming.

But for today and tomorrow, we are dealing with record high temperatures here in the DC area.

But summer always has ‘last waves.’ I’m hopeful that this is the last of the heat for 2008.

And through the day tomorrow, as the temps soar to the mid 90s, I will daydream of days in October, when I am wearing a sweater and going to the park with the children. Our noses will drip from the cool air. I will still be wearing my Birks — but with nice wool socks. And we will be talking about how the forest has changed since the hot days of summer when we escaped the heat, somewhat, by visiting those cool places. And we will be planning going to a pumpkin patch to pick out pumkins to paint.

It’s coming…I just need to be patient for a few more days.

Mary

