Potatoes, carrots, parsnips with onion, garlic, rosemary and olive oil. That’s what I’m thinking about this morning. Why? Tis cold here in Bethesda and cold makes me want hot, roasted root vegetables. That ‘recipe’ though excruciatingly simple, produces a plate full of yummy, healthy, satisfaction.

That’s what I’ll make for dinner this evening. Paired with a loaf of fresh, homemade, very crusty, whole wheat bread…yum-o.

So, it’s a new year. How did I spend new year’s eve? I watched a show on PBS for a little while, it was called ‘Lords of the Gourds’ — I am NOT kidding. It was about people who (obsessively) work to grow the largest pumpkins ever. Even the participants have enough self-awareness to ‘get’ that they are being obsessive, and maybe even a little loony.

Once Whinnie was firmly asleep I turned off the tv and went to sleep very quickly. So the new year started without any fanfare or acknowledgement around here — since I was the last to go to sleep.

But this morning, we greeted the new year with cookies I made yesterday for just this observance. 🙂

Today? Well, Papa Chris is off work for the day, so ANYTHING, really, is possible. 😉 Right now it’s too cold to go schlepping around outside with Whinnie, but if it warms up a bit after lunch, we may metro in to DC to explore. The National Tree display is still up; there’s the new exhibit at the Natural History Museum (about oceans) that we’ve been wanting to check out; and there’s the National Building Museum. Man, there’s a lot to do here.

So, Happy New Year everyone. I have no new year’s resolutions to share with you. But I do have a focus to make sure that on December 31st, 2009 I can look back at the year and know that the year was (regardless of ups, downs, failures and successes) LIVED!

One of my online-mama-friends, whom we shall call Dot 😉 has the following quote in her signature line:

“Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways – Chardonnay in one hand – chocolate in the other – body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, ‘WOO HOO; What a Ride!'”

Every time I read that quote, I am reminded that I want to live that way. So happy new year’s everyone. Go forth and make your own life into “What A Ride!”

blessings,
Mary

