book-book

I’ve blogged about this book in the past…but it’s probably the distant past (in web time) so I don’t feel bad about mentioning it again.

I totally love this book. It is so imaginative and quirky. I cannot imagine someone reading this book and not being inspired to do something.

Although the entire book is wonderful (and not your typical book…the fonts are literally all over the pages in multiple directions) it is the ‘make your own book’ section that I turn to over and over again.

There you will find simple instructions, with simple line drawings when appropriate, to make the following types of books:
– The Simple Book
– The Accordian Book
– The Never-Ending Book
– The Leaf Book
– The Shape Book
– The Scroll Book
– The TV Book
– The Animated Book
– The Feather Book
– The Pop-up Book
– The Book-in-Three

This morning I sat down with a variety of supplies and started making a Simple Book. I had an old toy catalog (NOVA natural toys, bliss) plus scissors, construction paper, glue sticks and a cardboard cereal box retrieved from the recycling box.

With classical music playing in the background, I started my project. I prepared myself to remain patient with the 3,000 inevitable interuptions, too.

Whinnie and Theo were at the table with me, coloring and cutting and glueing. Nic was on the computer, playing chess.

Everyone stayed occupied in their own projects. And I stayed focused on the process not the product. I reminded myself that I did not need to get out a ruler or straight edge to draw perfect lines. I reminded myself that construction paper is an imperfect material. I reminded myself that Whingari (who I imagined would enjoy my creation most) is not critical of uneven cut lines.

During the process, Whinnie left the table to play with her wooden eggs and later with the treehouse. Theo left the table to build with legos and to explore on the computer when Nic was done. Nic, after losing to the computer ‘too darn many times’ asked how he could learn to be better at chess. We found ChessKids Academy and he read and learned.

And I learned that it is about the process.

The process calms me. The process allows me to be both calm and inviting to the attachlings. They respond accordingly.

But I need to not over-stretch in my attempts at creativity. Or, rather, I need to not over-stretch when I am working with the children. When I am needing to care for them and be creative, it must all be easy.

So I need to keep my most challenging projects for when Chris is able to care for the children. That way I can learn and do new things and be a better mama.

joyfully,
Mary

