Yesterday found us riding the metro in to DC and going to the national zoo. As with all Smithsonian facilities, the zoo is free and awesome.

Though we came home more than 12 hours ago and I’ve had a good sleep…I am still tired. Winter’s inactivity has waned our stamina.

We took loads of photos…153 over the course of the whole weekend. šŸ˜€

I posted more of them to my Flickr account: http://www.flickr.com/photos/attachlings

Most of these are self-explanatory…animals and creative children šŸ˜€

This first one, though, deserves an explanation. This is part of a large mosaic near the entrance to the zoo. The first time we visited I was completely captured by this. So during this visit we made sure to get pix:

march-29-0391

march-29-040

under the bamboo shade

under the bamboo shade

Whingari 'cheetah spotting'

Whingari 'cheetah spotting'

best shot of the day

best shot of the day

Whingari hugging Nic's head - on the metro ride home

Whingari hugging Nic's head - on the metro ride home

I also got pix of pandas, cheetahs and lots of birds…check out the Flickr link for more.

Mary

