Over the weekend I got the book Free-Range Knitter (by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, aka The Yarn Harlot) from the library…and then read it quickly. For anyone who’s interested, it’s a fantastically quick read and an inducement to laugh much.

It’s also quite a bit of philosophy. No, not just knitting philosophy…life philosophy. Really, why not? Knitters are just people who knit. Well, sort of, but I shan’t digress.

At one point in the book the author was talking about a trip to a cabin all by herself, so that she could write and finish a book (that book) without distraction. Whilst there, and writing almost effortlessly, she discovered that she was knitting less. Significantly less.

This had her musing about the nature of creativity. And initially she said that knitting was not creative…in the definition of not being of original thought. My hackles were up. Knitting IS creative, I said as I read. But I perservered with reading, hopeful that she’d change her mind.

What she came to was an understanding that knitting was creative in that it is creating. And she also came to understand that the writing process was, for that short bit of time, fulfilling her need to create that knitting normally would.

Yes, exactly! Knitting is my process of creating. Knitting is my way of being patient and observant when my children don’t need me to be in direct involvement with them. And it’s also my way of being productive whilst sitting still (darn Calvin Work Ethic!!)

But, this creativity thing…how far can we take this imagery, this idea?

Do all humans have a need for a certain amount of creativity in their days to survive, to thrive? Does each person (as I suspect) have a minimum-creativity-quotient that is specific to their person and their life?

If so, then children, surely, have an unbelieveably high quota.

If so, then what happens when a person (and especially a child) is trapped in a daily existence that does not allow them to fulfill their creativity-quota?

My guess is that the creativity will come out, oozing almost from their pores, in distinct and sometimes troubling ways.

Where am I going with this? Just this:
When my beautiful and very creative children are thwarted in their ‘good’ creative endeavors, they will probably begin acting-out…for creating havoc is still creating something. 😀

Every parent knows that a bored child is a child more likely to get into trouble. Now I have a construct to really understand why…

Today’s goal: facilitate soul-enriching creativity for the attachlings.

Mary

