That’s what I awoke to today.

The sun crests the mountainside at just past 6 am right now. Coincidentally, perhaps, that’s when I’m rested and ready to get up each morning.

Right now it’s about 7:40. Chris has left for work. The children are all still in bed. It’s deeply quiet. All I hear are the birds outside and the hum of the dishwasher running.

The sun is playing games with the shadows on the floor.

There are more shades of green outside my window than crayola ever thought to put in a box of crayons.

I inhale deeply and am grateful for this day, and its quiet beginning.

Soon children will be up and clamoring for breakfast.
Soon the computer will be turned on and there will be learning and laughter.
Soon I will have to pull away from my cocoon of solitude and get back to unpacking.

Yesterday I made pumpkin muffins. This is a recipe that I have been using for almost 6 years. What’s amusing to me is that I am still using the tattered and stained piece of paper that I wrote the original recipe down on those many years ago. When I pulled it out yesterday I made a promise to myself that I’d come up with a ‘real’ system for organizing and protecting all my favorite recipes. I show you one photo of that paper as proof of my words…and then photos of the muffin making process.
Note: I’ve changed this recipe over the years and have moved it towards more ‘real foods’ ingredients. I’ll post my modified recipe as well. It’s a great one because you can use whatever you have on hand. If I have some over-ripe bananas, voila, banana muffins. Or you can use sweet potato, pumpkin or butternut squash puree — your own or canned.

april-23-011

april-23-009

april-23-013

Whole Wheat Muffins
makes 24

preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 stick butter, melted
1 cup sugar
4 eggs
2 cups pumpkin (or 4 large ripe bananas)

Combine dry ingredients until blended

In separate bowl, blend eggs, melted butter, sugar, pumpkin

Add dry mixture to wet in thirds

Pour into muffin cups or pan

Cook for apprx 20 minutes

Enjoy!

 

Whingari and Theo are up now…must log off and begin the day. One last photo first. This is Whingari as a ‘cow girl’ as I promised yesterday.

This is a cow outfit that she wore on Halloween. When she wanted to go outside yesterday I told her that she needed pants and shoes. When she showed up with this outfit, first I giggled, then I helped her get into it. She swept the deck whilst mooing. Gotta love it!

peace,
Mary

april-23-005

