june25 001

This volume came in the mail 2 days ago and it is a treasure. It was recommended by the 4th grade curriculum book I purchased from A Little Flower Garden. I am so grateful that it was, too!

How have I gotten to this point in my life without previously knowing this wonderful little book exists?

I got this used from an Ebay seller, btw, for less than $17, shipping included. What a find! (and there were others and I know of someone from whom you might be able to buy a copy for less than $15, if you like…)

The introductory chapter tells all about ‘nature-study’ and the best ways for the teacher to approach in. There’s so much in this one chapter that goes beyond what is in the school system. And this book was first published in 1911.

I saw a couple of the original editions on ebay as well, but those are collectors items, and not what I was wanting. This edition was republished in 1986, with updates to critical content.

june25 002

Theo, the only attachling already up, is sitting in my lap as I type and he’s looking through this book. As you can see, the photos and illustrations are simple and all in black-and-white. But this doesn’t detract at all from it’s beauty. And, of course, Theo has been reading for nearly 2 years now…that little autodidact…so he is reading as well as looking. 😀

Honestly I think an entire homeschool curriculum or plan of study or activity list could be made from this one text. It’s that good and complete. Of course it’s also 887 pages.

june25 003

But one needn’t be a homeschooler to make use of this wonderous collection. I suspect that it would be greatly appreciated by a traditional-schooling family, either as a focus for the long, hot summer…or as a supplement to schoolwork.

Whilst I was searching for this book, btw, I stumbled across this blog…devoted to utilizing this book and it’s approach:

http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com/

And before I close, a few quotes from the book.

…the nature-study approach…the kernal of that method of treatment is the study of the organism in its environment, its relation to the world about it, and hte features which enable it to function in its surroundings.

…nature-study is a science, and is more than a science; it is not merely a study of life, but an experience of life.

The children should be impressed with the fact that the nature story is never finished. (11)

Today, methinks, all things are conspiring together to facilitate a nature walk. 😀

peace,
Mary

