July 3, 2008
We finished packing up the moving van and said goodbye to our beloved home in Indiana.

July 3, 2009
We went for a drive to the Shenandoah National Park.
shen2

What a year!

Within the span of that year we lived in 3 different places (in 3 different states!) and lived 3 different kinds of lives. In Indiana we were suburban and very settled with many, many friends/connections and family. In Maryland we were urban, very unsettled, and had no friends/connections or family (except those we could have via online and phone.) In West Virginia we are becoming deeply rooted and are making friends and connections and inviting family to come visit when possible.

The Shenandoah National Park is a stunning place to visit. And it’s very close to our home…which we did not realize until we drove it yesterday. There are two different cavern-attractions in the area as well, which we will explore on some other day.

For yesterday it was enough to drive the main road and stop at most of the overlooks.

At the first overlook I saw something truly extraordinary…and it touched me deeply. It wasn’t the mountains or the view. It was people in action.

We had just stopped at this overlook and gotten the attachlings out for a look. Then there was the sickening screech of brakes and as I looked back past the van, I saw a motorcyclist in trouble and saw him crash…in a very controlled way. I was impressed with his skill as he laid his bike over, rolled away from it and jumped to his feet. In the few seconds between the bike going down and the biker jumping up every adult at the overlook (except me) took off running to offer assistance. Every one. There were about 15 adults looking at the view when this happened and everyone moved as one to get to this possibly injured driver.

I stayed behind, of course, as I had the three attachlings to corral and none of us could have done anything but be in the way.

One of the cyclists next to me put down a very expensive ($5,000?) digital camera and ran to assist. That’s impressive.

The cyclist seeemed ok, though it was reported that he had an injured knee. Other bikers got his bike uprighted, started and moved off the roadway. They bonded around him while he waited for a park ranger to arrive.

Yes, bikers seem to share a bond. But most of the adults that ran to his aide, including Papa Chris, were not bikers at all. They were just caring, responsive human beings.

Chris did most of the driving yesterday, which was bliss for me because I knitted all along the way. I’ve gotten skilled enough (finally) that I can knit without looking at the stitches constantly. So I got to knit AND enjoy the beauty all around me.

Mother Earth is stunning, majestic, and worthy of our care and love.

shen

happy weekend all,
Mary

