Our weekends are always busy. Papa Chris is home and there’s always errands and/or adventures.

Saturday we went to Frederick to visit The Common Market. ‘Tis a wonderful store and natural/organic foods co-op.

I’m always surprised by how close Frederick is to us, no matter how many times I drive there. I really must make The Common Market part of our regular grocery shopping. The only real reason I haven’t thus far is because I keep forgetting how close it is. πŸ˜‰

Sunday we headed off to Luray Caverns in Virginia. Amazing.

I hadn’t been to a cave or cavern since childhood and it was an interesting experience. The attachlings loved it!

This was an awesome choice for an incredibly hot day…caverns, underground, cool and wonderful.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the sun. I love the warmth and the life-giving (and garden/crop growing) rays. But when the temps are going to approach 100 degrees (first time all summer) it’s time to find a way to stay cool inside. Or underground. πŸ˜‰

It’s expensive to go in to Luray — $21 per adult, $10 per child 6-12. But for a one-time thing, I can handle it. Plus it is a long walk and they have self-tour headphones included in the price.

Oh, the headphones? The boys loved those! I thought Theo would be a wiggle-monkey that we’d have to remove from the formations constantly. Nope. He was completely engaged by the surroundings and focused on the self-guided tour via headphones.

Nic loved it. He loved the caverns. He loved the headphones. He loved it all. He was such a loveable geek about giving us all the details he was hearing.

Whinnie was in the ergo on my back for about two-thirds of the tour and then walked the rest of the way. She was completely engaged as well, telling me what things looked like to her and showing me the water she spied.

As we walked around it was easy to see why earlier peoples chose caves and caverns at their deepest points, for initiation rituals. I could imagine who transformative the path would have been when illuminated only by candles or torches.

Awe-inspiring. And humbling.

Off to regain our weekday rhythm and do some housecleaning…

Mary

