It’s finally here! The day after labor day…the day I chose to start our homeschooling year.

The long weekend gave me a chance to finish curtains and watch the music program DVD and spend loads of time with Papa Chris and the attachlings.

Sunday morning I made scones with those beautiful raspberries from the farmers’ market.

sept7 005

They were awesome! I used the very simple drop scones recipe that you can see here on the blog (click on the Recipes tab above.)

Here’s a shot of the curtains I made for Theo and Whinnie’s playroom. Not a good shot, sorry. Although it does give you a really good view of the smeary fingerprints. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Regardless, I love that fabric. I won it on a blog giveaway from The Long Thread. It’s made in Japan and is so silky soft. The drawings of the boy and girl blowing bubbles are very sweet.

sept7 011

Here’s the one for Nic’s room, made from black solarveil. I put that one on a tension rod so that we didn’t have to drill into that lovely windowseat casing. Nic loves it because he can sit in the window seat and look out the window and have the curtain between him and the rest of the room. ๐Ÿ˜€ I was looking for a curtain that gave him some privacy without completely blocking out the little bit of light this north-facing gets.

sept7 012

Do you ever pick up a remnant or small piece of fabric from a clearance table? That’s what this one was… I had no idea where I’d ever use it, but this pattern caught my eye one day. I got the 1 yard that was left of it and packed it away with other fabrics. When I went searching through all of it in my curtain-making-quest I found it and decided it was perfect for the laundry room door. This is the only glass in the house that isn’t insulated…hence the sunshine and heat pours in and I’m sure the same will happen with cold this winter. So this one was meant to block out the sun. And it does.

sept7 010

Well, that’s it for the curtain tour today. I still have the master bedroom white solarveil ones to share…but I haven’t taken photos of that yet. Maybe tomorrow.

Off to make oatmeal and get dressed and get the attachlings out for our inaugural school day nature walk…

peacefully,
Mary

