Ok, I’m back. 🙂

We were very busy during the week that Chris was in Florida for the convention. And then we took the week off. I had it planned to be a ‘fall break’ and how very glad I am that I foresaw a need to take a break and just ‘be.’

In the Waldorf reading that I’ve done I’ve noticed the importance given to taking breaks. Summer break is seen as a time for children to play and be and enjoy nature…but it has a worthwhile academic purpose to. This time gives the child a chance to integrate what’s been learned and recharge for the coming schoolwork.

Last week was a great recharge time for me. It didn’t feel like we were failing in any way. It felt like a deserved break to sit back, enjoy being together, and think about the weeks to come.

Yesterday, with this recharge week almost over, I sat alone and thought and read and planned. It was a good time to think about what was working, what wasn’t, and how we could accommodate the change of seasons.

So today we start a new block with Nic: Norse Mythology
And we start after lunch nature walks, because the closer we get to winter, the chillier the mornings are.

Tomorrow I’ll blog about my new focus on our homeschooling year. It’s good stuff. 🙂

peace,
Mary

