First, a celebration…the PAIR of socks is done! Woohoo! 
They are thick and yummy and well, done! I draped them on the yule tree last night for Chris to find. I figured I might as well start off the holiday ‘gifts I made myself’ season. Chris tried them on last night and wandered around the house with them. His verdict? They are wonderful. And hot. Seriously…the guy who’s feet never get warm enough had to take them off because his feet were too hot. 🙂 That is fantastic news as he has to stand at train and bus stations without shelter as a part of his daily commute.

Now, what I’m most excited about. Yeah, I’m excited that the socks are done…but that’s not it. What I’m jazzed about is the mathematical computations performed to make the socks.

Ok, here’s the situation; my pattern for these ‘basic socks’ was written for being knit utilizing 4 double-pointed-needles (dpns) but I was using one circular needle, and the ‘magic loop’ knitting technique.

Typically this is not an issue as the conversion is simple or I can easily ‘eyeball’ what needs to happen. Such was not the case with these socks. When it came time to a) shape the heel, and, b) shape the toe, more precision was needed than those methods could provide.

So what’s the big deal? Well when instructions are written thusly: “one the 1st needle, knit up to the last 3 stitches, then k2tog, k1…” and you have 1 needle and the stitches are not divided onto 3, therein lies the problem. I can have the exact same number of stitches but not the same arrangement.

And then there’s the math. It’s not complicated math, but it can be complicated to wrap one’s mind around what is needed for the conversion. But I did it. I sat there and figured it all out both logically and mathematically. And I remembered that I was once considered a pretty intelligent individual. 😉

Once the predicted math was written out for the heel shaping, I picked up the needles, said a prayer to the patron goddess of knitters and dove in. And my computations were perfect, as was the heel. Then I sat there and computed the same thing for shaping the toe. Equally perfect.

This makes me so happy. Not only am I able to understand the patterns enough to translate them…I can also excavate enough of  my ‘non-mama’ brain to remember how to think. 

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy and appreciate the stay-at-home-mama gig. It is my daily choice to keep going down this path. It is my daily choice to homeschool and allow my children to not be shipped off to other places for their daily education, occupation, entertainment.

Yet it is nice to achieve something different…something that pushes me to stretch.

Off to knit and sew more gifts…with less trepidation about patterns that once seemed like a code to which I wasn’t given the key.

blessings,
Mary 

PS – And please forgive any arrogance. I am humbled by my many (MANY!) knitting errors. I am glad to use my math-brain again, but know that part of my success comes from aforementioned patron goddess of knitting. 😉

