…but I do have more books to read (without accompanying time to read them. 🙂 )

I was absolutely amazed the other day. I had out my FAVORITE homeschooling book: Home Learning Year by Year by Rebecca Rupp

I was looking at various sections for the boys and came across 6 books that I thought were interesting. Since I don’t have unlimited funds to buy everything I want 😉 I took a shot at the library’s collection. Whatdayknow? 5 of the 6 were available through one of the local libraries or library loan. Color me very happy.

So today I picked up the following titles:

Round-the-Year Plays for Children by Alice Very
This one has 35 plays for various times of the year. I thought it might spark an interest in the boys for staging their own plays. We’ll see.

Math for Smarty Pants by Marilyn Burns
This book is written to the child, but is very entertaining for a grown up as well. I’ve only read the introduction but really like that it distinguishes many ways of having a ‘math brain.’

How Math Works by Caorl Vorderman
I have no doubt that once I leave this book strategically ‘strewn’ around the house it will be noticed and poured over. Theo especially loves books filled with experiments. Hands-on math…that’s what I’m looking for for my beloved 6yo.

And lastly, one not in the Rupp manual:
Coop: A Year of Poultry, Pigs and Parenting by Michael Perry

That last one was recommended to me by Amazon. I guess I have enough books in my queue about homesteading that they are detecting a theme. 😉 And how, I ask, was I to ignore that title? I was flabbergasted to find this one at the library as well.

Successful day. We even had fun. 😉

peace and blessings,
Mary

