All homeschoolers face this, I am certain; people inquiring as to how we spend our days. Of course there’s no simple answer. Even if we’ve established a basic rhythm to our days, each one is going to be different.

We encounter people almost every time we leave the house who ask, “do you homeschool?’ assumably because Nic is big enough to be in school otherwise. And they all want to know the same thing, ‘what do we do?’ or ‘how do we do it?’ or ‘how do you find the patience?’

Earlier this week I was chatting with a lady whilst the attachlings played with her two young boys (2-something and almost 5?) She told me she was considering homeschooling but that she was concerned about the patience issue. She said she was already feeling herself getting stressed that her eldest son would not sit still and write his letters. She was quite surprised when I commented that I didn’t believe boy-children under the age of 7 capable of sitting down and doing anything for very long. 😉 Yes, I was quick to note that my comment may seem sexist, but that I hadn’t experienced girl-children over the age of 3 yet, and that my boy-children were exactly like that.

Anyway, while I had her attention and she hadn’t decided me loony yet, I brought up the idea of unschooling. Clearly this mama had never heard of such a thing. She didn’t seem appalled, just surprised. My intent was neither to shock, nor to convince…just to suggest that homeschooling has many flavors, many approaches and many, many nuances. I wanted to help her to look deeper and see that there is more to homeschooling than choosing A curriculum.

So how do WE spend our days? Every one is different. But today we:

~ worked on writing a first novel (Nic)
~ did math games on the computer (Theo, with Whinnie watching)
~ played with friends (all)
~ went grocery shopping, including lots of reading and scavenger hunting (all)
~ ate at our favorite mexican restaurant for dinner

Some days Nic does all his schoolwork online. But right now he’s deep into writing a novel. This is the first thing EVER to spark his interest enough that he’s willingly writing, on paper, with a pencil. I am so thrilled. His imagination is bubbling, his writing is improving, and he’s thinking in terms of illustrations, plots, topographical maps of his imaginary kingdom and royalties. Yes, royalties. Not royal people, he’s thinking about publishers and contract negotiations and how much money he’ll earn. Silly little capitalist. 🙂

So that was our day. No two of them are alike. No two of my children are alike enough for me to become complacent. 😉

peace,
Mary

