‎”We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” — Joseph Campbell

More Joseph Campbell quotes here.

As  child I LOVED mythology. I remember one very large book that I would check out from the library all the time. I must have read that book, cover-to-cover, 100 times. It was D’Aulaires book of Greek/Roman Mythology. The book’s cover was seared onto my memory.

We have a copy of that book now…and it is tattered and almost falling apart from all the times Nic has read and studied it. 🙂

I read everything mythological I could as a child, teen and young adult. It spoke to me.

It wasn’t until I was in my mid-20s that a friend introduced me to the works of Joseph Campbell. I was hooked.

I now knew that what I really loved was called Comparative Mythology.

The Power of Myth series, in which Bill Moyers interviews Campbell, is my favorite. More recently I’ve seen several additional pieces via Netflix.

Looking forward to more reading/watching Joseph Campbell and his very grand ‘life’s work.’

