Sometimes when I read blogs, especially those of accomplished crafters and inspiring mothers, I feel insufficient to this task.

Life always seems so much more organized, productive, creative and yet calm on those blogs.

I wonder if that is how our lives look when viewed only (or primarily) via these posts here on attachlings.

If so, let me clarify: life here is messy, noisy, chaotic and at times really challenging. It is also creative and surprising and innovative and deeply engaging. In other words, anything but peaceful and calm, but still extremely satisfying.

I struggle.
Lately I’ve struggled alot.

My dear friend brought me this book (which I mention here because it is likely I will reference it often):

From which I’ve copied these (and many other) words to help me through my days.

“Having compassion starts and ends with having compassion for all those unwanted parts of ourselves, all those imperfections that we don’t even want to look at.”

‎”The only reason that we don’t open our hearts and minds to other people is that they trigger confusion in us that we don’t feel brave enough or sane enough to deal with. To the degree that we look clearly and compassionately at ourselves, we feel confident and fearless about looking into someone else’s eyes.”

 

My point (and I do have one) is that we all struggle…as parents, as partners, as human beings.

And no matter how calm and peaceful we seem, this family is as live-out-loud and chaotic and disheveled and disorganized as any other. And yet we find bliss within this. We find fun times amid the misunderstandings. We find a way to cuddle and make up when we are harsh with one another. We find a desire to be together as a family even when someone forgets to be kind, compassionate and loving.

In other words, we are a normal family.

If all you see here are the fun, creative, engaging and bliss-filled moments, please remember that is the nature of the medium. I am not going to spend time posting photos of unswept floors, unmade beds and dirty dishes. I am not going to document tantrums and harsh words and parenting ‘fails.’ But know that they are there too.

In fact maybe you can view these posts and the accompanying photos as my attempt to prove (especially to myself) that we actually do have times that are happy and creative and attached and loving. For without this perspective, this outlet, I can easily fall into the erroneous belief that it is all chaos.

But it is not all chaos; neither is is all calm.

The words and photos that I post are only relevant for the few seconds that they represent. Life has swirled, circled and danced on from that moment.

 

