Ingredients:

1 cup + 1 tablespoon warm water
1.5 tablespoons melted butter
3  tablespoons maple syrup (warmed is best)
2.25 teaspoons yeast
3 cups all purpose flour
0.5 cup dry buttermilk powder
1 tablespoon gluten
1.5 teaspoon salt

yield 1.5 pound loaf

My strategy is to place all the ingredients in my bread machine’s pan and select the dough setting. Ninety minutes later the dough is well-integrated, mixed and ready for me.

I roll the dough out onto my counter and pound and knead it a bit more with well-buttered hands. Then I shape it into a log, place it in a non-stick loaf pan, cover it with a warm, damp cloth, and put it in the oven with the light on. There is just enough warmth in the oven with the light on to allow the bread a nice, slow rise over about another hour.

Once the dough is doubled in size, I remove the cloth, close the oven and turn it on to 350 degrees. About 20-30 minutes after the oven has finished preheating we have a beautiful, delicious loaf. Easy Peasy.

Enjoy!

